Shave Of The Day (17 July 2013)

One of the wonderful things about traditional wet shaving is that there are a plethora of amazing smelling products.  There are so many great soaps, creams, after shaves, etc. to choose from that it is almost impossible NOT to find something that you love.  One of my favorite scented products is L’Occitane Cade shave soap.  It has a unique juniper scent that makes me smile every time I use it, and the scent sticks around even after the soap is gone.  At only $12/puck it is a great product, and I highly recommend it.

I have been craving the awesome juniper scent of L’Occitane Cade, so I pulled my UFO bowl out and got to shaving.  For some reason I had a problem creating good lather today.  I usually use a boar brush and bowl lather my Cade, but I was using a badger and face lathering, so it’s difficult to tell what the issue was.  In any event the lather was a bit thin, but still serviceable.  I did my usual three pass wtg/atg/xtg shave followed by a cold water rinse and SAL Alum.  I managed an excellent nick free/irritation free BBS shave.  The Cade soap’s less than perfect lather was still enough to get the job done and its after scent is amazing and stays around for a good while after the shave.  The Persona Platinum is STILL going strong (it’s on shave five or six) and is perfectly paired with the Edwin Jagger DE86.  The Vulfix brush worked well enough, but I think I will go boar the next time I use my L’Occitane Cade soap.  All in all, a pleasant shave with wonderful olfactory stimulation through out.

Pre: Hot shower and warm water splash
Razor: Edwin Jagger DE86
Blade: Personna Platinum
Brush: Vulfix 376S Super Badger
Soap: L’Occitane Cade
Post: Cold water rinse and SAL Alum

image

Product Links:

SAL Alum:
http://www.connaughtshaving.com/allumblock.html

L’Occitane Cade Shave Soap:
http://usa.loccitane.com/cade-shaving-soap,82,1,29221,283018.htm

L’Occitane Aluminum Shave Bowl (A.K.A. the UFO Bowl):
http://usa.loccitane.com/cade-shaving-bowl,82,1,29221,262934.htm

Vulfix 376S Super Badger:
http://www.westcoastshaving.com/Vulfix-376S-Super-Badger-Shaving-Brush_p_553.html

Leave a comment