Just because it stinks doesn’t mean it should be tossed…

There are some scents that I just do not like.  Tobacco, sandalwood, most bay rums, and anything that smells more like men’s deodorant than a soap top my list of least favorite scents.  Sometimes I can get past a bad scent because the product is just so amazing (De Vergulde Hand Extra Fris, for example), sometimes I can’t (MWF and Kell’s Original Ultra Aloe Black Tea spring instantly to mind).  I usually like to at least try to use a product before dismissing it due to scent, but I’m human so that doesn’t always happen (The first time I smelled the Palmolive stick I packaged it right back up and tossed it into a drawer for a month).  Today I’m giving a product that I instantly disliked due to its scent a second chance.

Today I’m giving Real Shaving Co. Sensitive shave cream a go.  RSC is readily available at Rite Aid, but since there aren’t any Rite Aids within 100 miles of me and no other drugstore or supermarket in my area carries the stuff I purchased mine from Connaught Shaving, all the way over in the UK. This stuff is the very definition of the “men’s deodorant scent” and I instantly disliked it.  I did lather it up once and I think I may have used it in a superlather, but I have never used it on its own before today.  To give it a fighting chance I used it with my Vulfix 376S Super Badger brush, a pre-war Gillette fat handle Tech, and a Super Iridium Extra Stainless blade.

My usual three pass with the grain/against the grain/across the grain shave followed by a cold water rinse and some T.N. Dickinson With Hazel resulted in an effortless baby butt smooth shave with zero nicks and zero irritation.  The RSC Sensitive lathered easily and was nice and slick, but required more water to get right than I expected.  I’m assuming this is because I used too much…I probably should have taken the “double concentrated” label to heart.  The cream performed well and left my skin nice and soft, and if it were unscented I would be raving about this stuff.  The problem that I have is two fold.  First, I have to work to get my hands on a cream that is, for most people, readily available.  It may seem like a nit-pick, but it bugs me.  Second, the scent really is not pleasant…and it lingers.  It’s not the worst scent out there, but with so many other great creams and soaps at a similar price point and which are easier to obtain I have a hard time justifying this one.  It was an excellent shave, but I don’t know that it’s enough to redeem this cream for me…maybe I’ll give it another shot before passing it on, but I doubt it.

Pre: Hot shower and warm water splash
Razor: pre-war Gillette fat handle Tech
Blade: Super Iridium Extra Stainless
Brush: Vulfix 376S Super Badger
Soap: Real Shaving Co. Sensitive
Post: Cold water rinse and T.N. Dickinson Witch Hazel

image

Leave a Reply

