Shave Of The Day (24 July 2013)

One of my favorite soaps is Van Der Hagen Deluxe melted and mixed with Van Der Hagen Glycerin.  The combination creates a great smelling, slick soap with excellent skin care abilities.  I like to put my mixture into a nice Kingsley dark wood bowl to jazz it up a bit and to give it the respect that it so rightly deserves.  For the low cost of $3.50 for 5oz. of soap ($1.75/VDH soap at HEB and WalMart) and $6.50 for the bowl I get an amazing soap in an amazing container.  Sadly, I haven’t been able to use this soap much lately because I’ve been on a soft soap kick, but today I pulled out my VDH Deluxe/Glycerin blend and took it for a spin.

I did my usual three pass wtg/atg/xtg shave followed by a cold water rinse and a splash of T.N. Dickinson Witch Hazel.  The Art of Shaving Fine Badger brush helped the VDH soap go crazy with thick, creamy lather that provided excellent protection and glide.  The Gillette Old Type head sitting comfortably on a ball end Tech handle was the perfect choice to finish off my Personna Platinum blade.  The blade is on shave #7, but still works well.  I’m actually hesitant to let the Personna Platinum go, but I feel it beginning to tug, so following this shave it’s time for something new.  I managed a DFS with zero nicks.  The blade caused a little minor irritation while shaving, but the witch hazel took care of that.  A great shave with gear that really deserves more love.

Pre: Hot shower and warm water splash
Razor: Gillette Old Type on ball end Tech handle
Blade: Personna Platinum
Brush: AoS Fine Badger Brush
Soap: Van Der Hagen Deluxe/Glycerin Blend
Post: Cold water rinse and T.N. Dickinson Witch Hazel

image

Product Links:

Van Der Hagen Deluxe:
http://www.drugstore.com/van-der-hagen-deluxe-shave-soap/qxp155184?catid=183790

Van Der Hagen Glycerin:
http://www.drugstore.com/van-der-hagen-glycerin-shave-soap/qxp155183?catid=183790

Personna Platinum:
http://www.bullgooseshaving.net/peplrpapepao.html

Kingsley Dark Wood Bowl:
http://www.drugstore.com/kingsley-for-men-wood-shave-soap-bowl-with-lid/qxp75462?catid=183790

Leave a Reply

