Shave Of The Day (03 June 2013)

I’m just coming off of my “Desert Island” Week in which I used one set of products all week without straying.  It was an interesting experience that allowed me to really get to know my chosen set up, but it also had me considering other products that I might be able to use exclusively.  Which scents could I enjoy over and over again in the long term?  What soaps would keep my interest over an extended period of time?  Which razor would work best for me if I had to use just one?  So, for the rest of this month I will be staying loyal to one set of products all week long and will only switch up at the end of the week.  I’ll post my opening set up and thoughts as well as my close out impressions of how the week went.  In between I will continue to post product reviews as well as some of the fiction that I have managed to get done during my brief down time.  I hope you enjoy the ride.

First up is a set of gear that I have never used together, but I can list each piece as among my all time favorites separately.  For my soap I will use another superlather, this one will be Pre De Provence soap and Kiss My Face Green Tea & Bamboo shave cream.  PdP soap is an excellent french soap with a good amount of shea butter included in its ingredients list.  This soap does an amazing job of keeping the skin moist, but can be difficult to lather.  I have found that using a slightly drier than normal brush and loading up a bit longer will usually eliminate this soap’s lathering issues.  My wife loves this stuff and now uses it almost exclusively (she still pulls out a bottle of KMF or “her” tub of TOBS Rose whenever she’s in a hurry).  The KMF Green Tea & Bamboo has long been one of my all time favorite creams both scent wise and performance wise.  I use it all of the time to help boost a difficult soap or when I want something that just smells awesome.  I have to admit though, that one of the major reasons that I chose it was because I happened to be reading an old forum thread discussing (and mostly praising) KMF creams.  My brush for the week will be my Comoy/Vulfix 376S Super Badger.  I won this in a give away contest on The Shave Nook and have been mostly using it to do test lathers for my product reviews.  This brush is extremely soft, easy to rinse clean, and looks great.  The 376S seems to almost magically pick up tons of product with very little effort and I feel very lucky to have been given this brush.  The more I use the Comoy/Vulfix, the more I like it.  My razor will be my Union Cutlery 5/8 full hollow square point.  I put a lot of time and work into the UC and I consider it to be my best straight razor.  It performs reliably and always makes me happy that I chose to fix it up.  It is by no means a collector’s straight razor, but it sits proudly at the top of my collection…blemishes and all.  I am still working on my straight razor technique, so my shaves won’t be 100% just yet, but using my UC I know that I can improve without having to wonder about the whether my issues are coming from my razor or me.

Today following a hot shower and warm water splashes to the face I did a three pass with the grain/against the grain/across the grain shave and finished up with a cold water rinse.  The superlather was perfect.  It created mountains of slick lather that did an excellent job of protecting my face and smelled nice and green.  Imagine holding a freshly cut sapling up to your nose while sitting on a newly mown lawn and you’ll have the scent.  My Comoy/Vulfix brush held up beautifully and produced the lather with zero difficulties.  I did a bit of experimenting with blade angles and directions of attack without any real ill effects.  I received a damn fine shave with only mild irritation on my neck.  My skin feels soft and smooth in a talc sort of way rather than in the slick sort of feeling that I get from heavy glycerin soaps or from after shave balms.  There is a slight soapy sort of scent lingering in the background that I like quite a bit.  Overall this was an excellent shave and the perfect beginning to my desert island month.

Pre: Hot shower and warm water splash
Razor: Union Cutlery 5/8 full hollow
Soap: Superlather of Pre De Provence and Kiss My Face Green Tea & Bamboo
Brush: Comoy/Vulfix 376S Super Badger
Post: Cold water rinse

image

image

image

image

Product Links:

Pre De Provence:
http://www.drugstore.com/pre-de-provence-shave-soap/qxp361594?catid=184086

Kiss My Face Green Tea & Bamboo:
http://www.pureformulas.com/green-tea-bamboo-moisture-shave-11-fl-oz-by-kiss-my-face.html

Vulfix 376S Super Badger:
http://www.westcoastshaving.com/Vulfix-376S-Super-Badger-Shaving-Brush_p_553.html

Leave a Reply

