Shave Of The Day (20 May 2013)

Today I am doing an easy shave.  I have a lot to do, so for once I am just going to take the easy road and enjoy a quick, but effective shave.

My razor of choice is the amazing Union Cutlery 5/8 square point full hollow straight razor.  I can not say enough good things about this razor.  It cost me very little, cleaned up nicely, and after a visit to Larry over at Whipped Dog, shaves extremely well.  I highly recommend Union Cutlery razors for anyone looking to get into vintage straight razors.  I am using Kiss My Face Cool Mint because it is a bit hot out today and because Mondays are Menthol Mondays over at The Shave Den.  KMF Cool Mint is an excellent cream that lathers well and has a nice, subtle cooling effect, it does sort of smell like toothpaste, but you get past that pretty quickly.  If you like menthol, but have issues with face freeze, then KMF Cool Mint might be a good choice.  My brush is the Muhle HJM 41-P-3H tortoise shell boar brush.  It is a bit too scratchy for my usual tastes, but it lathers up products quickly and easily and the handle looks nice…I may have to reknot it with something better one of these days.

Following my usual prep, I performed a typical three pass with the grain/against the grain/across the grain shave followed by a cold water rinse and an application of The Art Of Shaving Unscented After Shave Balm.  The shave was great, a wonderful baby butt smooth shave with only a little mild irritation due to my attempting to rush through the process.  The cold water didn’t really take care of my issue, so I dabbed on the AoS A/S balm, which did the job.  My skin feels smooth and soft and I am ready for the day.  What more could you ask for out of a shave?

Pre: Hot shower and warm water splash
Razor: Union Cutlery 5/8 full hollow
Brush: Muhle HJM 41-P-3H tortoise shell boar
Soap: Kiss My Face Cool Mint
Post: Cold water rinse and AoS Unscented A/S Balm

image

Product Links:

Whipped Dog Honing Services:

http://www.whippeddog.com/services/view/honing

Muhle HJM 41-P-3H tortoise shell boar brush:

http://www.shoeboxshaveshop.com/mu41babotosh.html

Kiss My Face Cool Mint:

http://pureformulas.ecomm-search.com/search?catalog=yhst-37598795206756&.autodone=http%3A%2F%2Fstore.yahoo.com%2Fyhst-37598795206756%2F&query=kiss+my+face+shave&x=0&y=0

The Art Of Shaving Unscented After Shave Balm:

http://www.amazon.com/Art-Shaving-After-Shave-Unscented-Sensitive/dp/B000FGTTTW

Leave a Reply

