Shave Of The Day (01 May 2013)

I like to share my experiences and thoughts on the various shave gear that I use and enjoy, so I’ll be posting my daily shaves for folks to browse through and learn from.  If you have any questions in regards to any of the gear that I use then feel free to ask and I will do my best to answer your questions.  I am not affiliated with any online vendors, but to help folks who may be looking for good gear I will post links at the end of my posts showing you where the gear that was used in my shave can be purchased.

Pre: Hot shower and warm water splash
Brush: Muhle HJM 41-P-3H tortoise shell boar
Razor: Edwin Jagger DE86
Blade: Croma Diamant
Soap: De Vergulde Hand Extra Fris
Post: Cold water rinse

I received a nice little gift of Croma Diamant razor blades from a member of The Shave Nook forum who saw that I was interested in trying them out.  Inspired by these German made blades, I decided to set up a Germanic themed shave.  Starting with a Croma Diamant blade (made by the same folks who make Bolzanos) in an Edwin Jagger DE86 (Ok, the EJ is English, but EJ and Muhle products were developed together and are all pretty much interchangeable…plus the English are a fairly Germanic group of folks, even if that part of their ancestry is a bit far in the past).  I pulled out my workhorse Muhle boar brush and soaked it while I took my shower.  My puck of DVH Extra Firs (a Dutch soap) also sat soaking.

First things first, De Vergulde Hand Extra Fris has an awful scent and I do not like it, but the scent calms down when lathered and leaves a very pleasant after scent on my skin.  It may start off overly harsh and sharp smelling, but it ends light and clean.  I have used this soap about a half dozen times and have nothing but good things to say about it (other than the initial scent, that is).  The soap loaded into my brush amazingly fast and lathered up so thick and creamy that it could have been mistaken for whipped cream.  The soap applied smoothly and provided an excellent surface for my razor to work on.  The Edwin Jagger glided smoothly and the Croma blade provided a glassy smooth shave with zero irritation or nicks.  I performed a three pass shave and ended with my usual cold water rinse.  The results were a BBS shave along with one of the most pleasant shaving experiences that I have ever had.  I went into this shave expecting a difficult to use and harsh blade, but I am happy to say that I was 100% wrong.  Unlike the Bolzano blades, which I DID find to be overly harsh, the Cromas were surprisingly smooth and forgiving.  If these blades continue to perform as well as they have in their initial outing, then I will be happy to place them in my top 5 blades list.

The Muhle brush can be purchased here:
http://www.shoeboxshaveshop.com/mu41babotosh.html

The Edwin Jagger Razor can be purchased from the same vendor here:
http://www.shoeboxshaveshop.com/edjadide.html

The Croma Diamant blades can be purchased here:
http://www.razorbladesandmore.com/content/10-croma-diamant-stainless-steel-double-edge-blades

The De Vergulde Hand Extra Fris soap can be purchased here:
http://www.royalshave.com/p/422-079-00/de-vergulde-hand-shaving-soap-extra-fresh.html

image

Leave a Reply

